Smith Haughey Announces New Promotions & 2024 Board of Directors

Smith Haughey is happy to share recent promotions and present the firm’s 2024 board of directors.

Three attorneys – Jenny DeGraves, Julie Hyatt-Wierzbiki, and Spencer Lickteig – have been promoted to shareholder, effective January 2024. 

Jenny DeGraves

Jenny DeGraves | Shareholder

Jenny is a member of our business and real estate group. 

She has been practicing in West Michigan since 2010 and has a particular interest in correcting chain of title defects. Jenny has broad
experience providing counsel concerning wills, trusts, estate administration, guardianships and conservatorships, litigation, real property issues, and businesses. She represents both individual and corporate clients. She values strong client relationships and believes they’re the foundation of excellent legal counsel and advocacy.

Julie Hyatt-Wierzbicki  | Shareholder 

Julie works with clients in a variety of litigation and family law matters. She has represented both individuals and businesses in complex commercial, real estate, and collection matters as well as in divorce, custody, personal injury, and domestic disputes.

In her practice, Julie has counseled clients through every stage of the litigation process, including strategizing, discovery, settlement negotiations, trial, and post-judgment issues. Julie’s diverse background has afforded her clients creative solutions to complex problems and has enabled her clients to resolve cases using the best process that fits their unique needs.

Spencer Lickteig

Spencer Lickteig | Shareholder

Spencer’s practice focuses on transactional health law matters, specifically in areas such as contract review and drafting, HIPAA and confidentiality, fraud and abuse, and compliance with Federal and state laws and regulations. He also provides advice and guidance on corporate business development and assists clients in analyzing and implementing internal policies and procedures, including those related to employment discrimination and accommodation matters.

Additionally, Spencer represents licensed healthcare practitioners in defense against licensing and administrative investigations with the State of Michigan. 

2024 Board of Directors

The firm has elected Michael Miller and Brian Kilbane to join the existing board of directors – Nicholas Reister, Mark Gilchrist, Adam Tountas, Kristen Guinn, and Matthew Wikander

Brian Kilbane

Brian Kilbane | Board of Directors

For over 30 years, Brian has represented clients in the health care industry, he also serves as a respected general counselor and advisor to health care facilities and providers throughout Michigan. Brian also litigates health law, employment, professional licensing, tax, and medical malpractice claims in federal and state courts and administrative courts and tribunals.

He provides his clients with proactive guidance on issues such as regulatory compliance, Stark, Anti-Kickback, fraud and abuse, Self-Referral Disclosure Protocol, health care regulated business transactions/contracting, institutional governance, physician credentialing, medical staff matters, HIPAA/HITECH, medical records management, professional licensing, employment, real estate, construction, and health law generally.

Michael Miller

Michael Miller | Board of Directors

Michael is a lead trial attorney and shareholder in Smith Haughey’s Ann Arbor office, where he serves as managing partner. He has 16 years of experience representing and vigorously defending hospitals, doctors, nurses, and other health care providers in medical malpractice litigation and at trial.

His clients have included major academic medical centers, regional medical centers, obstetricians, emergency medicine physicians, internists, surgeons, anesthesiologists, otolaryngologists, neurologists, nurses, and many others.

Share to Social Media