Smith Haughey Announces New Shareholders and Board of Directors

Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge is pleased to announce its 2020 Board of Directors and the addition of three new shareholders.


Christopher S. Berry is a litigator in Smith Haughey’s Muskegon office, devoting the entirety his practice to all aspects of litigation. He has extensive trial experience in a wide variety of civil and criminal cases in both federal and state courts throughout the state of Michigan. Chris regularly represent businesses, individuals, insurers and insureds in pursuing and defending claims in the areas of commercial, construction, insurance, personal injury, employment and probate litigation.

Jay C. Kakaty practices in Smith Haughey’s Grand Rapids office in the areas of estate planning, business planning, and entertainment law. A veteran attorney, Jay has helped thousands of individuals, families, and businesses successfully resolve their legal problems and execute their business and personal goals. Jay also has extensive experience practicing entertainment law, including negotiating recording and publishing deals.

Michael D. Wiese practices in Smith Haughey’s Grand Rapids office and is a member of the firm’s litigation practice group. He focuses his practice on professional liability defense, commercial litigation, insurance defense, products liability, and no-fault law, practicing extensively in both state and federal courts. Mike also handles appellate matters for clients in the Michigan Court of Appeals, Michigan Supreme Court, and Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

2020 Board of Directors

Smith Haughey has also elected one new member to its Board of Directors. Attorney Nick Reister will join attorneys Matt Wikander (CEO), Kevin Even, Kristen Guinn, Tom McCarthy, Jason Sebolt and Adam Tountas.