There’s no getting around it – the person who will likely sustain the most injury in an accident involving a motorcycle and another vehicle is the motorcycle driver. Though the other driver may be at fault, the motorcyclist is far likelier to experience disabling injuries that can affect him or her for a lifetime. Recovering compensation for the accident is complicated by the fact that a motorcycle is not considered a motor vehicle under Michigan’s No-Fault insurance laws.
Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Laws and Requirements
Our motorcycle injury attorneys want to remind you of the current Michigan helmet laws.
Michigan law currently allows motorcycle operators to drive without a helmet, if they:
The law also allows for motorcycle passengers to ride without a helmet, if they:
A person younger than 21 years old still must wear a helmet approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation when operating or riding on a motorcycle. An individual younger than 19 years old must wear a helmet if operating a moped on a public roadway.
When we accept your motorcycle accident case, we will usually enact a contingent fee arrangement—meaning we will not get paid until you do. We believe in every case we accept, and we put everything we have towards fighting for you.